Koh Tao Crossfit

I’m still not quite sure how I ended up in the box (Crossfit word for gym) for the first time. I was having some tough days and I knew I needed to do something about it and as a former basketball player (and crazy about the sport) my mind wandered that way… I knew I wanted / needed to bring exercise back in my life and only diving wasn’t good enough anymore. Needless to say there aren’t many options on Koh Tao and I quickly discarded the idea of Muay Thai or boxing and decided I didn’t want to go to a regular gym. My only options were trapeze (not really interested) and Crossfit.

So here I went, hopped on my bike and went to see what this Crossfit thing was. As soon as I got there, I was greeted by Claire in a very enthusiastic way and she explained me eeeeverything she could about prices and times and tried to give me an idea on what Crossfit was all about. I didn’t really understand what I was signing up for, but I wanted to give it a try anyway, so I decided to start the next Monday.

When the day arrived, I was greeted by Brad (head coach) and I told him I wasn’t quite sure of what I was doing. Big smile on his face, he reassured me I would be just fine, so I started my first fundamentals lesson with a bit more confidence. All in all, I took three of this mandatory sessions and by the time I finished them, every muscle in my body was completely sore and I had already decided I was going to love Crossfit.

After a WOD on the beach!

After a WOD on the beach!

It has been just a month now since I joined the normal classes and I have become one of them, part of this huge crazy family that can’t seem to be able to do anything but Crossfit and then talk about Crossfit. I have also become part of a smaller family, which is my box here on Koh Tao and I love it.

Throughout this month I have been working out 5 times a week under the supervision of Brad and H, and even though I have a long way in front of me to become better at it, I can see improvements already (those 12 double under’s in a row!!) and that makes me feel great. I absolutely love the fact that I wake up happy everyday because I’m going to Crossfit and the feeling after the WOD (Workout of the Day) is priceless. My coaches are brilliant and extremely patient as they explain every single exercise in a very clear way and then watch us and correct our form as we practice our skills. They are also awesome cheerleaders when it comes the time of the WOD and that really helps to push us to our limits. I don’t really have enough words to explain how much they do for us (even extra sessions if we ask them), but you can see it by how much everyone loves them. One more sign of a little happy family.

All in all, I’m very proud that I pushed through that hard month I was having and decided to give Crossfit a try. It is indeed one of the best things to have happened to me in a long time and now they will have to put up with me because I plan on sticking around for quite a while, so I can keep getting better and better!

 

Crossfit, nice to meet you!

And thank you, Claire, Brad and H 🙂

 

Categories: Crossfit, Koh Tao, Thailand | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

